Playing an mp3 file

MyCloud Home Question. My new MyCloud Home storage has been installed and appears to be working. I can see the folders and files that I created and copied over to it. From my mobile device and using the MyCloud app I see the mp3 files I want to play. When I click on the file it brings up “Open in”, then says: “preparing to import”, then gives some choices. What’s going on? Do I need to import the file? Seems like it should simply play the mp3 file. I don’t want a bunch of stuff on the mobile device…it would soon run out of space if it physically needed to reside there to be used right? So the question remains…How do you play an mp3 file?

My thinking was that since this device is a place to store and organize all your files, then it should be able to stream from there as well. I thought I read that somewhere. But right now I cannot find that reference. I’m also new to NAS and I’ve never used the cloud.

Many thanks for all replies!!!

If you are new to all this, you need the complete user manual for your model My Cloud Home. You can get it from WD Support at the main WD website. If you have your MCH configured correctly, listening to mp3 files comes under the “no brainer” category and you should be able to figure it out with the complete instructions.

No Brainer…that’s what I thought as well. I created a folder and put a few mp3’s in it that play fine using a regular external hard drive. But when I try to play them using the MCH, it does as explained earlier.

I have the manual. Things seem to be set up correctly. I’m wondering if it needs some additional app set up like iTunes or other. But it plays fine w/o iTunes off the external hard drive. I just can’t see what’s missing.

Thanks for your reply!

You need the My Cloud Home app for a mobile device, or you can use Plex.

Yup…already had the MyCloud Home app. That’s where the files show up and where I try to play them from.