Actually, WD Photos was always meant to be more of a personal app, but there’s nothing wrong with sharing it. Also, security is not at risk, if you decide you no longer want to share photos. All you have to do is go into the dashboard and remove the WD Photo permission from each of the users you no longer want to share with.
Bill_S, could you please point out exactly where on the WD My Cloud dashboard this ‘WD Photo Permission’ setting is?? I am running the latest firmware, and I can’t find it on the WD My Cloud dashboard I am using. Nor is there any mention of it in the PDF manual I downloaded. Maybe you could post the link of the PDF manual where this feature is documented.
You remove cloud devices by going to the Cloud Access tab, in the Dashboard, clicking on it, then clicking on the user you created to share your photos through. You’ll find the devices on the lower right of the page. You just need to click on the trashcan to remove the devices showing WDPhotos you don’t want having access. It’s on page 61 of the manual.
By the way, regarding WD Photos showing all your photos, it explicitly says in the manual that WD Photos will show your entire photo collection to anyone you want to share with.
On page 63 of the manual, it says, and I quote,
"Entertainment is happening all around you. Now you can capture every moment of it and send it to your device for access on any page in your home. Take a photo or video clip on your smartphone or tablet and upload it directly to your WD My Cloud device. Then you will have new files waiting for you so you can enjoy them in your entertainment center.
Show off your entire photo collection, that can include thousands of photos, without taking up tons of space on your smartphone."