Password for 2nd MyCloud mirror in same network?

Hi!

I have been using MyCloud Mirror 2TB for about 3 months now in my home network. No problems so far.

Now I have purchased a second MyCloud Mirror (4TB) to setup in the same network, as I would like to use it as an automatic remote backup device for the first MyCloud Mirror.

Going through the setup procedure step by step I encounter a problem using the setup software:

1. connect the device to the network: ok

2. download setup software: ok

3. Start setup software: ok

4. accept licence agreement: ok

5. Connect: ok

6. Select your WDMyCloud Mirror (Cloud1 and the new Cloud 2 to choose from), choose the new cloud 2 : ok

7. User: admin, Password?

The manual at this point does not mention a password, as the manual provides information for first time setup.

But this is the second MyCloud Mirror in the network and a password is needed. 

The system does not accept the admin password of the first MyCloud Mirror setup.

What to do? I tried several other passwords, I tried w/o password, I tried to setup the 2nd Cloud from a differend computer in the network. Nothing works.

Please help!

Best Regards

Gustav from Austria

As it hasn’t been set up yet, the 2nd MCM should be on the default user (admin) and password (no password).

What I’d recommend you do is follow the procedure for setting up without using the software (page 17 and onward in the user manual). Basically access the 2nd MCM via it’s dashboard (open a web browser and point it at the IP address of the 2nd MCM, which you can get from your router’s DHCP client table) and then log in with the above credentials.