No sound over HDMI with LG 50PX4D-EB

Hi,

I’m a newbie with WDTV but noticed an issue that’s more a FYI than anything else as I expect it will not be addressed anytime soon.

I have a WDTV running firmware 1.04.17 with a LG 50PX4D-EB, unfortunately sound does not work via the HDMI interface to this specific TV and seems like it never did in previous firmware versions.

I addressed the specific issue by using the audio-out plug to a amp, whilst not ideal it does do the job for now until this is addressed by a firmware fix (i guess) -  I’m not hoping or relying on that fact too much :stuck_out_tongue:

I have performed the following to come to this conclusion:

• Tried the past 4 (sorry do not have prior version numbers) firmwares available, none of them work with this particular LG TV and HDMI for sound.

• Tried the past 4 (sorry do not have prior version numbers) firmwares available, all fo them work with analogue sound out but no sound with this particular LG TV and HDMI.

• Switching between Stereo/Digital in options makes no difference (still no sound) when expecting sound over HDMI

• Tried several differently encoded videos to ensure it is not a video issue, sound consistantly works via the analogue audio output vs. expecting it over HDMI

• Rebooted the WDTV (serveral times)

• Unplugged/replugged in LG TV serveral times

• Tried to play music (mp3) and radio stations - all of them has no sound over HDMI with this specific LG TV whilst working with analogue audio out.

• Replaced HDMI cables - no change

• Whlst the LG TV only has a single HDMI port I tried with and without a digital HDMI switch-box, makes no difference

• HDMI port itself is not broken on the LG TV as a PS3, Xbox 360 and a Sky cable-box works perfectly with sound on this TV.

• Turned off TV and WDTV turned them on (and in reverse order) - no change with HDMI sound out