No sound on new WDTV Live Plus with HDMI cable

I have a brand new WDTV live plus. Attached it to my TV with HDMI cable, set audio to “digital” - no sound. I get sound using the same cable attaching my laptop to the TV.  I am a total novice with this kind of device, so have no idea what to do. Can anyone help me?

The only way I’ve been able to get sound is to attach both the included cables and all connectors to the TV - I don’t know if this is a correct way to set it up - from the manual I can’t understand what the difference is between the 2 included cables - are you supposed to use one or the other, or both together? Can someone please walk me through connecting this thing?

Thanks very much!!!

Welcome to the forums.

If you set the output to “Digital” it means your output device (in this case, your TV) needs to decode the sound, which normally they won’t do.,  Set it to “stereo” (only use “digital” if you are routing the sound to a receiver that can decode things like DTS and AC3 audio).

Thanks for the reply - that makes sense, though the WD user manual said to use digital! Not a very good manual. I don’t get sound on “stereo” either with the HDMI cable. I do get sound if I use the other non-HDMI cables. So should I not bother with HD and just use the other setup?

You should get sound using “stereo” with the HDMI cable – does your television get sound with other HDMI sources?  It may have to be set to receive sound that way (every set is different).

If you get sound with other HDMI sources plugged into the same spot, then it *might* be a handshaking issue – in that case set your HDMI output from the Live to whatever you TV supports (say, 1080p) instead of “auto” (the default).

Yes, i get sound from the same HDMI cable when plugged into my laptop (which has a smaller max resolution than the TV), so maybe changing the Auto resolution setting will work. Will try that when I get a chance. Thanks!