Newbie - Where to start?

Hi,

I am new to streaming and it appears tobe what I have wanted for years. So, as many of the other members in this community have more experience than I do, I am looking for advice as to getting started in the streaming arena.   I will list my desires & my current equipment set-up.

Desires:

1. Want to drop DirecTV subscription completely
  2. Have watched some TV and sports programming via the Internet on my desktop PC
  3. Want to copy all the DVDs (movie & music/concert such as Stevie Ray Vaughn, etc) currently owned to a hard drive
  4. Want ability to watch DVDs on any TV or PC in any room of the house
  5. Want to watch movies, sports, and TV shows from different on-line sources such as Hulu, Netflix, etc - to help cutting tie to DirecTV
  6. Want ability for 8 yr old daughter to play games such as offered by a WII, Xbox, or PS3, in any room of the house with TV capability - living room, theater room, exercise room, etc.

Current Equipment:

1. Have a Clearstream OTA HD antenna that brings in HD programming - programming is sufficient for our needs
  2. HD TV in 2nd floor living room
  3. Epson projecter in 1st floor theater room
  4. HD TV in 1st floor exercise room
  5. Desktop PC (purchased in Sep 2010) in 2nd floor bedroom
  6. Older Toshiba Laptop (purchased in Sep 2003) in 2nd floor living room
  7. House has Cat 5e wiring to every room in house - well, 2 of the 3 bathrooms do not have Cat 5e - LOL
  8. A/V distribution box is in 1st floor mechanical room
  9. 4-port Netgear switch
  10. Universal Remote Control MX-350 Osiris IR/RF Remote Control with IR extenders on 1st & 2nd floor

Issues:

1. Netgear switch only allows 4 rooms to have Internet simultaneously although every have has the capability - Cat 5e
  2. Clearstream antenna: when the TV is turned on the programming is slow to reach TV - acts like it has to fill the cable up with content - buffer - before it flows smoothly