Newbie - Transfer from Computer To MyCloud way to slow - 880 kb per second

Hi folks. newbie here to this product so be gentle! I have been around computers for years and I can navigate and find almost everything I need to. I am actually a web developer as well. All these years I have just backed up my sites to a DVD every so often as they don’t change to much. For a few years I have been eyeballing this MyCloud unit as it seemed like everything I could ever want for backup and having access to it from anywhere was also very appealing. Doubt I will ever use that feature, but it is available if I need to.

So before I proceed, here is my hardware list:

HP Pavallion p6710f Desktop with a 64 bit OS. The wireless built in failed so I have installed a Linksys N300 wireless adapter which has worked flawlessly.

My modem/router is an AT&T supplied Motorola 3347-02 ADSL Modem/Router w/Wi-Fi with 4 ethernet ports and a telephone line input.

Router Specs: http://www.cnet.com/products/netopia-3347-02-wireless-router-dsl-802-11b-g-desktop-series/specs/

Ok…so now you know what I am working with here. Now, as much as I know about computers and being able to successfully take care of most things myself, I have NO IDEA about all this external hard drive stuff, transfer rate and a lot of the “lingo” every uses here on this forum. All I know is I wanted an external hard drive to backup my computer and the WD MyCloud was my choice. As a matter of fact I bought TWO of them. One to backup my computer and one to backup my backup. Makes sense right? (I did a little research first but it now seems I should have bought a USB backup to the MyCloud backup so in case I need a quick recovery I could plug it right back into my computer…see, I do read the forums!!! LOL)

Ok…I know you can’t hook these MyClouds right into the computer (which is a feature/option it should come with) so I know the data transfer has to be done via the router no matter what.