Newbie Looking for Advice

All-

With the kids growing older (11, 9, 9, and 5) and now that everyone has their own iPods, computers, and phones (not the 5 yr old yet), I have begun to setup a home network for a central location for music, photos, videos, etc.  I am an engineer so I won’t hesitate to try (and probably break) anything.  I have always been partial to HP computers and WD hard drives.  Thus, I am on my way to purchasing a new My Book World Edition to plug into the cable router to start the network.  As I was looking at things, I figured I might as well look at streaming the video while I am at it.  I have Ethernet ports at every TV location so I don’t need wireless for the TV’s.

This is where I am asking you for advice (I have done lots of reading for the last month all over the internet).  I am not seeing the best reviews for the WD TV Live.  I first thought this would be a good option since it would be the same manufacturer as the Network drive (maybe not the best rationale).  We will not be doing much wireless streaming and we are a very busy family, so for the most art we will store and watch movies with the device.  My co-workers are dead set on convincing me to hold out for the Monsoon Vulkano or look at another device.  The Vulkano looks very promising and if the extra features are there I am sure my family will use them.  However, we have multiple TV’s throughout the house and I am not opposed to buying more than one piece of equipment for video-streaming.

Is the Vulkano worth waiting for?  What other devices would suit my needs at a reasonable price or is the software the key (I can convert to any video type and all computers are currently Windows 7)?  Is the WD TV Live as bad as it sounds in the community from a lack of options, luster, and interface (I understand that TV, networking, and streaming may not be WD’s forte).

Thanks in advance for any help!

Welcome to the forums.