New to smartwave......little advice

Hello All,

I am new to smartwave so maybe someone can set me straight. I bought a MBL a coupleof weeks ago and have beeen playing about with it. I installed smartware and updated it to the latest version(1.5.1.6) I ma a little confused as to exaclty what is being backed up and what isnt.

I have it set to category backup and it seems to have backup up a lot of content (categorised in mail/movies/pictures) etc.

I did a few test restores and it seemed fine. I then went to do a restore of a direcotry I have - C:\users\brian  and from the retrieve tab its not browsable and looks as though it isnt being backed up.

So I switched to file backup and thought perfect, I can select what folders I want backed up here. But although I can navigate throught the directories I cant seem to select the stuff to backup? the only option I have is “start backup”.

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks

Brian

a couple of things.  one, smartware will not back up a folder that’s considered a system folder.  if you’re attempting to back up a folder C:\users, it probably won’t back it up.  I would check the manual for which folders are acceptable and which are not.  two, if you’ve already created a backup, then you will have to delete the existing backup first before trying to create a different backup.

I hadnt considered that. The reason being I have 2 folders I want backed up C:\users\brian and C:\users\zoe. Its backing up the zoe directory just fine so I assume the users directory was ok to backup? but it seems to only back one of the dirs up. How would I delete the current backup?

thanks

Brian

in order to back up the other user is to have the computer running under that username.  then you can create a backup for that user.  I think all you have to do is delete the backup folder on the external drive.  but it will delete all the backups you have so far.