Network Share - Windows Share Problems

Ok, hour 6 of troubleshooting and I’m just going to ask.

Does anybody have this thing working yet?

Windows 7 x64

WD TV Live

Network Share - Windows Share

“Invalid username or password”  - My username and password are correct. 

There are dozens of people with this problem on this forum going back 3 years and various fixes that worked for some of them.

Media Server mode works, but the problem is that it’s useless.  It doesn’t detect anything that an xbox won’t detect.  Only WMV and AVI this way.  So I gotta get Windows Share working so that thing will do 1/10th of the things it says it can on the box.

I am guessing that this thing still works for nobody and that is why there were 3 of them in “open box” at Fry’s today.  I’m a network analyst.  There’s something software screwing with me.

Ok, I got it.

Uninstalled Windows Live Essentials - didn’t work

Allowed media streaming (sharing already enabled) - didn’t work

Updated firmware to 1124 - didn’t work

Gave stupid WD box my Admin account - worked

Wow, you have to bypass all security.  Pathetic.  Awful.

Yeah, if i could return this piece of junk, i would…but i’m stuborn to get it to work.  The frustrating thing was I had it working with Newtwork Shares, and then one day i put on the wdtv and it couldn’t get back on the network, only the media shares…which is useless.  So my question to anyone out there is…how do i give the WDTV live an admin account?  I have moderate network knowledge, so if someone can give me some pointers, i’d appreciated it.

My system uses Windows Home sever, and i’ve already made an account for the WDTV on it…that didn’t work…

WDnoWorky wrote:

Ok, I got it.

Uninstalled Windows Live Essentials - didn’t work

Allowed media streaming (sharing already enabled) - didn’t work

Updated firmware to 1124 - didn’t work

My thoughts exactly. If that’s what they mean by “working” it’s not worth it.

WDnoWorky wrote: