Netflix issue - a real mind bender

I have been slowly driving myself insane with this issue and I hope that someone has defeated it previously.

I have 2 x WDBGXT0000NBK that I have been using hassle free for many years now. All the streaming apps, including Netflix, have worked without a hitch.

Recently, in an effort to ahem maintain the maximum value of my Netflix subscription, I have set up a dedicated VPN router that is cascaded from my internet gateway/router. This has effectively created 2 wireless networks in my home, one accessing a local LAN and the other my VPN service. This it where it gets strange.

When connected to the local LAN, the WD TV units can access and play shows on Netflx (and start all other apps) without a problem. However, when connected to the VPN, all apps work EXCEPT Netflix. I initially through that it might have been an issue with the VPN connection, however, when I connect my PC to the VPN and navigate to Netflix, it logs me in and I can stream shows without a problem.

So the issue is obviously with the WD TV unit, but I can’t for the life of me figure it out. I have reset the location, adjusted the time, booted and rebooted until the cows come home but the end result is the same: the app starts and hangs for a while and I get a message saying it is unable to connect.

Has anyone come across this and/or has suggestions how to fix it?

Hello,

I have not try this. Not sure what can be causing the issue.

Lets see if any of the users can share some information about it.