Netflix, iPlayer missing from services menu

Just bought WD TV Live streaming and have updated it to 1.09.10 latest firmware. I cannot see Netflix or iPlayer under the services menu. Is WD blocking access to these services based on my IP address. It s 84.246.203.170. I have a subscription to Netflix that works perfectly on my PS 3 and my iPad. I also own a full UK TV License so have access to the BBC iPlayer on all my devices. Why can’t I access these services on the WD TV Live? I rolled back my firmware to 1.06 and Netflix and iPlayer work fine but they both disappear when I update to the latest firmware. I don’t want to keep the WD TV at the old version as there are some bugs that have been fixed in the later versions. Please help me to get Netflix an iPlayer working under the latest version. I’ve tried resetting to factory defaults to no effect. Let me reiterate, I have full, legal access to both Netflix and BBC iPlayer on all my devices except for the WD TV Live streaming media player.

Did you do a FULL factory reset?  Your IP space is registered to Isle of Man, UK, so I doubt that’s the reason.

Yes, I’ve done more than one rollbacks and factory resets to no avail. Been in touch with tech support this afternoon and they are flummoxed too. Just discovered that both Netflix and iPlayer show up in 1.06.04 so am going to try 1.07.15 next.

As I said above Netflix and iPlayer work ok on 1.06.04 but disappeared again when I updated to 1.07.15. Lots of buggy bits in 1.06.04 so not really happy about staying there.

if you have rolled back and have the app’s you want, try saving them as fav’s.

update your firmware and instead of going into the services tab, hit the blue button to bring up your fav’s and they should be there.

hth.

1 Like

Are you using the Built-in Mochi theme, or a custom theme?  If using a Custom theme, see if it’s there via Mochi theme.

Adding to favorites at 1.06 before updating worked a treat, thanks very much for that.