MyNet N900 - Unable to connect to Internet

Hi all, I’m a newbie to networking products, so bear with me.

I recently purchased the MyNet N900 router to replace my Telstra-supplied router (in Australia). The Telstra hardware automatically connects to the internet without any setup software or password, so as a long time WD fan I was hoping for a similar experience.

The CD setup wizard was easy enough to follow, but no matter what I did the MyNet N900 router was unable to connect to the internet. Everything is plugged in correctly – landline to splitter, splitter to router, then wireless to my laptop – and I have entered my ISP username & password in the Advanced setup section, but still no luck. The router connects to my home network for file sharing, but not to the internet, AND it knocks out my home phone line.

As I mentioned, the ADSL line comes in via my phone line, then goes to a splitter, and all of this works with the supplied Telstra router, but as soon as I plug in the MyNet N900 it all breaks down.

Telstra (ISP) have investigated and can find nothing wrong with the line, so it must be the rather expensive WD MyNet N900. Short of returning the device for a refund, is anyone able to suggest a solution. I’m savvy enough to follow the simple setup wizard, but when it starts to talk about PPPoE I get a bit lost.

I’m also not 100% on what the modem is; I thought it was in the line, but do I need something else attached to the MyNet N900 before internet access is granted? I see some devices onl;ine advertised as a “modem/router”, but the MyNet N900 is listed as a router only. Am I missing something?

Looking for a very simple step by step instruction, other than the one already on the WD help site. Please remember I’m a newbie!

Hi SPatch,

Your last line explains it all ! 

YES, you need a modem. 

What you can do (this is what I did) is keep your Telstra modem and, if possible, configure that in “Bridge mode only”.