MyCloud 4TB - Keep losing access to the shares daily

Hi I am a new owner of a MyCloud 4TB drive.

I have been using it for a few months now and have been less than impressed.

I recently upgraded to the lastest firmware and things have gone downhill from there.

My current issue is that I keep loosing access to the shares.

The scenario is as follows:

1. Unplug the MyCloud from power leave off for a minute.
  2. Plug the MyCloud into power and wait for it to start up.
  3. Access the WebUI and it all looks good.
  4. Access my shares via the UNC Path \WDMyCloud\ShareName and its all works fine.
  5. Go to sleep.
  6. Go to work.
  7. Come home
  8. Fire up the computer and try to access the shares, and I canot access them.
  9. Login to the WebUI, its very slow but eventually it tells me that everything is ok. It lists all the shares and I can look at them in the web ui but I am unable to see any of the shares on the UNC Path \WDMyCloud.

Repeat, from step one.

So basically I am having to reboot my WDMyCloud every day!

Details:

1. I am running the latest firmware - v04.00.01-623
  2. I am using Windows 8.1 Pro
  3. I have disabled the media streaming
  4. I am not using the Online Cloud access, this is disabled
  5. I have run a quick test when in the “Broken” state and it says everyting is OK
  6. I have the email alerts on, and the device has not sent any messages
  7. I have attempted changing some of the shares to private access and back to public access hoping it may jump start the UNC shares, no change.
  8. I have energy saving turned on.
  9. I am now running on a static IP Addess

Any ideas on what I can do to diagnose and or resolve this issue.

Try to disable not essential services for windows users.

Disable Time Machine from UI
Disable ITunes Server from UI

from ssh run

crontab -e

add this lines:

@reboot /bin/sh /etc/init.d/netatalk stop
@reboot /bin/sh /etc/init.d/wdmcserverd stop
@reboot /bin/sh /etc/init.d/wdphotodbmerger stop