My WD Live hub is garbage

I have had this device since last decemeber and it has been nothing but disaster.

1. It will not stay connected to my network to stream media from the computers to the hub, it constantly loses connection and cannot find the network. This is absolutely the most frustrating thing that I have to put up with. This is a frequent occurance. I have all the settings on the computers and the hub correct. I should know, I am an electrical engineer that has worked in IT for years.

2. It constantly freezes during operations and must be hard reset. It happens all the time with netflix and also during movies. Hard resets are for poorly made products. period.

I don’t understand how WD can stand behind such a poorly made product. Not to mention, the absolute horrid customer support. 

/end rant

I should know, I am an electrical engineer that has worked in IT for years.

Oh, puhleeze.   If you knew as much as you think, it’d work perfectly on your net, like mine does.  :smileyvery-happy:

First of all, you posted your rant in the wrong forum; this is for WD Live PLUS users – there is a separate forum for HUB users.  Secondly, you did not give any useful information – e.g. that you are connecting the HUB wirelessly vs. wired (just in case you had wanted some help).

So, I’m not going to say to you, that if you are connecting wirelessly, that being connected via ethernet wires is best if you want a trouble-free connection.  I’m also not going to tell you that, likeTony’s unit, mine works perfectly for the year I have had it.  Sure, my unit is a PLUS, but they are basically the same except I get to select the type and brand hard drive I want to use with my WDTV, and if the hard drive breaks, I don’t have to toss out a working media player along with a broken hard drive.

You ought to check into the HUB forum with your problem, and here’s a tip:  Skip the rant and ask nicely for some assistance if that is what you want.