My Cloud local web server setup

As a web developer I use my NAS as a (local) server. I develop different websites on my server. I’m not directly interested in hosting these sites. I need to work on them from one simple to manage share.

Before, I had a QNAP. They have this option called “Web server”. With just one click the NAS creates a share called “web”. All folders on the web-share are considered websites. That way, i can go to http://localIP/website1 or http://localIP/website2 and so on. That way I can work on different (Wordpress) installations at one time.

I’m trying to figure out how to set up my new PR4100 like this. I can install the “wordpress-app”. This creates just one site in the NAS_Prog folder. Accessing this folder from my finder is not natively supported nor advised.

What am i missing? How can I set up a “web server” where one share hosts a multitude of sites that i can localy work on and simply acces by finder?

Almost every app creates a website in /var/www, usually by symlinking a web directory to /var/www/somesite in the init.sh script. In the clean.sh this symlink is deleted again.
I suggest you have a look at the init scripts of tautulli and cops here.

I’m sorry but i have no idea but you are referring to. I appreciate the help but this above my knowledge. No ‘simple’ solution? My problem seems a bit basic.

Sorry, I was a bit brief.
Enable SSH and use cyberduck or similar to browse the NAS.
All webpages, e.g. http://nasIP/wordpress, http://nasIP/website1, http://nasIP/website2 are sitting at /var/www … e.g. /var/www/wordpress, /var/www/website1 and /var/www/website2 …

Note that the /var/www directory exists in RAM, so it is destroyed on reboot.
That is why you should create your website e.g. in /shares/Public/websites/site1 and create a symlink to /var/www.
You may use these ssh commands to do so.

ln -s /shares/Public/websites/site1 /var/www/mywebsite

On shutdown, this symlink needs to be removed.

rm /var/www/mywebsite