My Cloud Install Error Windows 7

I read about the new My Cloud line on Ars Technica and have been champing at the bit to get one.  Today (Sunday) seemed perfect.  Took less than 1/2 hour round trip to Best Buy and back.

Took my time unpacking and RTFM - easy as pie pictures these days.  Cut to the chase: I’m running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit.  When I run mc_windows_setup.exe, it locates my drive on the network, displays “Please wait while we check your device…”, and shortly after I get a blue screen and my PC reboots.

I’m an IT professional with extensive experience.  I tried several times, even disconnecting everything on the network except MC drive and my PC, started from clean boot, and anything else I could think of.  No dice.

Not wanting to waste OP’s time, I checked the forums and the knowledge base.  Used Advanced Search to specify My Cloud, Installation, and keyword “error”.  Nothing…

Found WD Tech Support was available on Sundays.  GREAT!  Called and was told that, in order to provide you with the best technical support, please call between Monday and Friday.

Holy Toledo!  I’m trying my best to have the proper perspective here.  I thought this was a super product that Western Digital wouldn’t think twice about putting resources into early adopter support.  The Level 1 tech I spoke to did a wonderful job of being diplomatic and polite, and we both gave each other time to communicate.  When all was said and done, the tech told me he understood completely, adding that as much as I was upset, he would be even more upset if he were I.

Western Digital:

I applaud the gentleman you chose to hire, who I spoke to today.   But SHAME, SHAME  ON YOU for even CONSIDERING to limit tech support to Monday thru Friday when you’re launching a product like gen 2 of My Cloud.

This should not require any further explanation.

Try downloading the version that’s on the web instead of the CD. Or, just skip it altogether… For an IT Pro, it doesn’t add any value.