My Book Essential shows as unformated drive. What should I do first?

Hi. I am pretty new to this sort of stuff so please bear with me if I don’t seem to understand how to do things that might seem simple & basic to you. I know my way around using Windows computers pretty well but my son Matt always kept them going for me (and most of the rest of the family too). He died last spring and I am working my way through his stuff and figuring out how to do stuff for myself and even some of the rest of the family.

My current problem is trying to figure out what needs to be done so my 80+ year old mother in law can use her My Book Essential. She told me that something went wrong with it and it went to Matt so he could “fix” it. Apparently it had been with Matt for a while and she can’t remember the exact problem.

Today I finally plugged it into my own computer to try it. When I try to open it a message pops up saying that it is not formatted and the Properties say it is 0 bytes used space and 0 bytes free space.

I want to return it to her in as close to new condition as possible. What should I do next?

BTW: I am still running WinXP (for at least a few more weeks) and so is she.

Hello,

See if the following link helps
https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?ID=1717&lang=en

Thanks. I haven’t read that through properly yet but it looks like I already know most of it. But even if I don’t learn much from it I’m sure it will be useful for teaching my Mum in law about her My Book.

I should have mentioned that I have a My Book of my own so I am a little familiar with it but mostly it just sits & flashes its light at me and I assume everything is OK with it. I guess I’ll have to learn how to set it up when I get my Win10 computer (in a few weeks). I also have a My Cloud which is my network drive (My Documents on both of my computers).