Move files faster

Sometimes I need to move a large volume of data from one share to another. In such cases, I use the “Internal Backup”, I copy the data in the new location and then delete the data from the previous location. The other option, to use the file explorer to move the data over the network from a share to the other is much slower compared to the option of using the tool “Internal Backup.” However, for this to work, the device need to have enough space on the drive so that the data is redundant until it are deleted.

So I was wondering if we have an “Internal Backup” tool, why do not we also have a tool “Move Files” in Registered User Interface?

Hi @persiomenezes

The miracle you are looking for is

mv -v /mnt/shares/share1 /mnt/shares/share2

and part of the commandline “tools” via SSH console. MV is the linux command to “move” files from A to B.

2 Likes

@Joerg_A, thank you for reply. But I am only a Windows user. I have no experience with Linux. I could try to use what you have said, but I would need something like a “cake recipe” (I mean: Step 01, do this; Step 02, do that… By the way, could you please help me with this?).

Besides that, when I try to turn “on” the SSH on user interface, the device says “Please note that modifying or attempting to modify this system outside the normal operation of the product voids your WD warranty”. What does it mean? If I turn “on” SSH will I lost my warranty?

I really would like to learn how to move files with SSH, but I still believe we need a “Move files function” on next firmeware update.

Hi @persiomenezes

Read carefully what is written in this sentence :wink: