Mountain Lion and the WD SmartWare install

I’ve tried numerous versions of the WD SmartWare installer, and it just hangs. I have to force quit out. Is this software compatible with Mountain Lion?

Looks like it was patched tonight. I guess I was right :slight_smile:

I just installed Mountain LIon and now it says my 2TB My Book is read-only. Is there any way to fix this? It worked just before the install. I am not a developer. Please help! Thanks!

1 Like

lillie-beth wrote:

I just installed Mountain LIon and now it says my 2TB My Book is read-only. Is there any way to fix this? It worked just before the install. I am not a developer. Please help! Thanks!

Seconded! Just installed Mountain Lion and all of a sudden I can’t write to my 2TB My Book. any word? I’m looking at a pretty big crisis if I can’t resolve this soon.

This is happing to me to I have my system pretty much to max, and I really need to dump some files onto my external drives both mybooks and I can’t access them.

Not happy, can someone fix this please!

I’ve got a 500gb WD my passport. I updated mac to mountain lion two days ago and now I can’t  even view the files on my disc, let alone access time machine. I really need a patch to be released ASAP

Exactly the same problem here. Cant access anything stored on it, including my iPhoto, iTunes or Aperture libraries. Pain in the **bleep**. Help WD!

Looking at the number of Mountain Lion threads on here, this is clearly a WD issue with the new OS (and it appears to only apply to WD drives by the way). 

I don’t see any response from the manufacturer either on their support pages or their forums despite the number of comments and calls they’ve no doubt recieved.

There is disregard for your customers, and then there is Western Digital…

Hi, 

1. Is your Mt. Lion OS-X an upgrade from Lion OS-X to Mt. Lion or clean an install Mt. Lion (without any previous operating system)?