Mid-May estimated release date for the upcoming firmware

Now that WDC failed to release during mid-April the firmware that is supposed to fix the Netflix issues, they’re announcing that it’s going to happen during mid-May, which I think is insane.

Being a software developer myself, I’m usually very comprehensive when it comes to software bugs or established release windows; but, this time, I just cannot see how someone can be comprehensive towards a company that is doing things in an atrocious way for its clients.

Judging from the previously-released firmware upgrades, the cycle usually takes around a month and a half. But this time it’s going to take two months and a half (1.07.18 just doesn’t count). And it wouldn’t be all that bad, if it weren’t for the fact that user complaints have been at their highest during these weeks.

A company that takes their longest when their users complain their most seems like a company who just doesn’t like having them. This is absolutely ridiculous. They claim that testing is taking longer than expected. Do any of you feel that any of the previous firmware releases was thoroughly tested? Or perhaps this is the first time that they’ll test a firmware in a correct way before releasing it, and that’s why it’s taking longer?

I just don’t know what to think about WDC anymore. I don’t doubt that the software development team is giving their all right now to fix this. But for companies with a reputation like WDC, this is not good enough. Maybe the people in that team is just not good enough. Maybe they should hire developers who are less inept. Or perhaps their personnel is alright, but their methodologies are awful. Either way, this is seriously ruining the company’s reputation.

I just hope that WDC doesn’t end the support for the SMP a year after its release date, because we’re all going to remember how much time we lost waiting for them to fix these bugs.

5 Likes

Where did you hear it’s going to be released mid May?