Making my MyCloudMirror 6TB a MediaServer

Hello everybody,

I’m completely new in the world of CloudComputing or working with a NAS or MediaServer so please don’t get mad at me at once :wink:

I have a very specific question and hope anyone has an answer for me: Yesterday I bought my brand new WD MyCloudMirror 6TB and set it up to work as a MediaServer, at least I thought so…

The thing I was wondering is: Is there a way to make my device stream movies oder other media files via the internet to my mobile devices (iPhone, iPad, MacBook Pro) even when I am not in my home network?

With the help of the manual I made all the settings for the box, but when I try to access my Cloud I am just able to download the files, but not to watch it online…

I hope I made myself clear and someone has a clue how to handle my wish :slight_smile:

Thanks to all of you at first and greetings from Germany :wink:

Cris

I can tell you that for watching from a mobile iOS device, you can purchase an app called VLC Player from App Store and use that to connect via the network to stream movies/music, etc. Now, how good this experience will be depends on several factors - the Net connection speed both of your home network and that of your mobile device, how huge the movie file is (compressed and smaller movie files gives you smoother streaming experience but you also lose a little picture quality as a tradeoff).

The way you can connect to the NAS server to stream and view files is by FTP from the VLC Player app - but there’s a big caveat…as of right now, the FTP functionality is broken on several My Cloud products (EX2 & Mirror)…but there is a manual workaround if you are willing to make a minor change to a config file via SSH. Otherwise, you cannot ftp from outside. You can also stream using the VLC player UPnP within your home network .