Mac OS extended (Journaled) format?

I have been using my WD book for Mac for a couple of years now and all of a sudden my Macbook Pro has given me a message saying " The back up disk is not in Mac OS extended (Journaled) format which is required" . Does anyone have a clue what this means and how I recify it. I now feel I am running without back-up.

Mac OS Extended (Journaled) or HFS Plus is a  file system developed by  Apple Inc.

With the release of the  Mac OS X 10.2.2 update on November 11, 2002, Apple added optional  journaling features to HFS Plus for improved data reliability. 

The formatting decides the way the files are stored on your hard disk.

Mac OS Extended (Journaled) is the normal recomended way to format your drives, internal and external.

I always format a new drive as Mac OS Extended (Journaled), immediatly and before use.

If you wish to change to Mac OS Extended Journaled:

you will need to reformat your drive. And that means moving your data to another location whilst you reformat the drive.

However, You may wish to continue as you are, and ignore this message. Your choice.

It shouldn’t affect you if you are happy with the way it is right now.

To reformat:

Save your data

use Disk Utility, select your disk, and use the Partition Tab. Name the disk, select Mac OS Extended (Journaled), and press the Applied button.

If you want to know more about the subject:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mac_OS_Extended_(journaled)

Thinking about your options a bit, I think  I should advise you to take the trouble to reformat any drives you have as Mac OS Exxtended (Journaled). You system will be more reliable, long term.

A Mac OS Extended volume can be journaled, which means that the operating system keeps a continuous log (journal) of the changes made to the files on the volume. This log helps the operating system restore the volume to a usable state if a power failure or other problem interrupts the disk’s operation and damages files.