Just pulled the trigger on NAS and Net Upgrade, QNAP TS-410 + 8TB Storage, and Gig-Ethernet :)

Similar to what Mkelley did a few days back, I thought I’d start this thread.

I just purchased a QNAP TS-410 NAS appliance, and will be adding 4 2TB WD20EADS drives to it, configured in Raid 5, for a total usable capacity of just under 6 Terrabytes.

Since it has Gig Ethernet ports, and several of my desktops now do, and my Living Room WDTV Live has an N-Wireless (in G Mode) adapter, I decided it was time to upgrade the LAN to Gig and the WiFi to N, so I purchased two Linksys E3000 Wireless Routers to hook it all up.  (Yes, two, because I plan on having a private WiFi segment in addition to the main one.   I’m a network engineer by trade, so this makes plenty of sense to me… :wink:   )

My current “Media Server” share box has two TB of storage in it, but I no longer have an agreeable way to back it up, as the external drive fills up with every snapshot, and leaves little space for incrementals.

I’ve decided to make the NAS the Media Storage box, and also the backup destination.   I won’t have a separate backup of the Media, as the NAS will be RAID 5, thus will have failure tolerance if a single drive fails.

I was trying out Carbonite for remote backup, but it takes just TOO freaking long (they seem to limit me to about 2-3 Gigabytes per day of transfer bandwidth.   At that rate, it’ll take a year to get a full backup!  (And I have 35 Megabit UPLOAD bandwidth, so it’s not my issue, it’s theirs.)

So the new strategy is, in case of fire, grab the NAS and run.  :)

I’ll keep ya’ll updated with my findings.

Read about:  Raid  is NOT the same as backup. What if the fire happens when you are not home? If you have files in the NAS that you truly care about and are not replaceable, you might try placing a backup in a different location …  Al

Just remember the WDTV only has a 10/100 ethernet connection…

I think you’ll enjoy your NAS, Tony.  I sure do like mine.