Internet speed for streaming 1080p 40GB+ movies

HI all,

I’ve been thinking about upgrading my internet speed and was wondering if you guys have any recommendations to what would be an ideal speed to stream large movie files. My current download speed is ~10Mbps and upload is ~1.5Mbps. I’m a newbie at the whole streaming 1080p content deal so I’m hoping I can get some good advice from some of you gurus :slight_smile:

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

If by streaming you mean wired, then no problem. If you mean wireless, forget it. There is no wireless hardware currently capable of streaming full HD movie rips reliably to the Live Hub.

@ Ricardobed

Just to clarify, your internet speed that your ISP provides has no bearing on how you stream to the Hub.

As Miami_Son says its all to do with your home network.

Wireless for what you want is a no go, Cat5 cable etc as in hard wired its no problem.

Wireless is difficult but not impossible.

I get 70-90 megabits per second to my WiFi Hub…  that’s plenty for streaming most HD movies.

I only have one Blu-ray rip I have problems with…  Iron Man 2.  

Hi Tony,

May I ask what type of wireless adapter are you using for your Hub and also how fast is your internet speed?

Thanks!

I am using the Cisco WUSB600N, and I have two Linksys E3000 Dual-band routers configured as access points.

My internet speed has nothing to do with it, but it happens to be 40-megabit bidirectional.