Initialized using GPT and now Win 7 will not see drive. BIOS does but not Windows

Hello,

It’s been a while since I’ve dealt with drive issues and I’m new to Win 7 so please bear with me.

Picked up a new 3TB Red to us as extra storage, and with my Asus P5Q board, only 7XXGB were recognized.  No problem, I was aware of the lack of large disk support so googled for a solution.  I read that the way to get it to work is to initialize in GPT mode using the Disk Management program in Win 7.  The drive was present so I initialized using GPT.  When I rebooted the drive was no longer present. It had been assigned a drive letter (E:, not that it really matters what letter) but unwritable before initialization, but afterward it was gone.

I tried rebooting, reconnecting, using a different SATA port, unplugging other drives, trying various disk programs (Seagate, Maxtor) to see if the drive would be found. No luck. So I brought it back to the store I bought it from thinking that it might be dead.  Plugged in the new drive, tried the GPT thing again and had the same result.

BIOS sees the drive.  Unfortunately the BIOS doesn’t have anywhere I can select UEFI or whatever mode might help.  I’ve tried various DOS based programs from Hiren’s boot CD and only the Samsung program actually saw the drive.  I think it said it’s on port 5 but I couldn’t do anything because it’s not a Samsung drive. 

I’m at my wits end trying to get this drive back.  I reboot, safe mode, diskpart, disk management, but nothing recognizes the drive once Windows 7 (SP1 btw) starts.  It’s like it’s not there.  Drive spins when it gets power and I’ve swapped cables/ports/etc so it’s not the connection.  Anyone have any ideas how a) I can get Windows to see the drive so I can start using it and b) What the heck I did wrong and how to do it right so I can use all 3TB of storage?