I cannot access My Cloud after formatting my computer

Hello. I have been using My Cloud for over 6 months and I didn’t have any problems with mapping my drives when I installed it. Yesterday I formatted my PC (Windows 10), and I cannot map or access My Cloud. I installed WD Access, it doesn’t have the mapping option either. When I click “Open”, nothing happens. When I enter the Map Network drive menu, and I type in “\192.168.1.99”, I can see “WDMYCLOUD” but when I try to access it, I get the error “Windows cannot access \WDMYCLOUD”. I alson checked if Kodi can access it. I can access my files when I select NFS, but not when I select SMB. I also have an Nvidia Shield TV, which uses SMB 1.0 and I could map that drive with no problems.

Microsoft has disabled SMB1.0 in later updates of Windows 10 due to security issues present in SMB1.0. Reenabling it may solve the inability of Windows 10 to see the My Cloud.

Thank you for your answer. But like I said, I can see My Cloud, but I cannot access it. And SMB 1.0 is already enabled because I can access Nvidia Shield TV which uses SMB 1.0.

1 Like

As a troubleshooting step. Actually check, if you haven’t done so already, the Windows Features setting to ensure SMB1.0 is actually enabled. One of the recent Windows 10 updates will actually disable the SMB1.0 setting.

Can you access the My Cloud Dashboard using a web browser?

Is Kodi running on the same Windows 10 PC?

SMB1.0 is actually enabled. I can access the My Cloud Dashboard using Google Chrome. And Kodi is running on the same Windows 10 PC.

I have solved the problem by adding a Windows credential and then rebooting the My Cloud.

Hello, Xeriphas, I am having exactly the same issue you describe. Could you be a little more specific about your fix. I tried adding a credential for “\mycloud” without success. All suggestions welcome.

First, reset your network: Fix Wi-Fi connection issues in Windows - Microsoft Support