How should your hard drive be arranged for files?

Hi, I’m new to this device, I’m getting ready to go buy the WD TV Live Plus Media Player, one question. I have a external hard drive with several hundred movies located under a Movie folder and each movie is located within a folder with the name of the movie (All my movies and AVI and some MP4) Same with my Pictures and Music, is this format OK or do I need to arrange in to some kind of order?

It all depends what works for you… the box itself doesn’t really care how you organize it.

However, having several hundred all in one folder might make finding the one you’re looking for a bit of a pain… you might want to add some sub-folders to categorize things a bit.

Good Idea, I have movies seperate from TV Shows, I guess I could seperate by drama, comedy, Western…ect.

Ya, as I say, it’s somewhat of a personal preference thing.  Some people group by year (or by decade)… some people group alphabetically… some people group by genre… some people just leave them all in one big folder.

You can always try a few different ways and see what you like best.  Although, I’d recommend connecting the USB drive to your PC for reorganizing the files – I’m personally not a big fan of the WDTV file tools.

Yea, I thought about putting them in some kind of order on the PC first, maybe arrange them so many in each folder, maybe all movies from A - E in one then F- J in one and K - O in another, well, you see where I’m going with this. Then keep all TV shows in a separate folder. All my Pictures are in different folder and sub-folders, easy to read. Just need to do the same with my music.