How can I hide shares from FTP

Hi,

I’m new to the MyBookLive community so firstly “hello”!

I’m trying to set FTP up such that I can only gain access to a very specific share called “Transfer”.

I’ve created the share and a specific username/password for FTP use and have my public IP address for same.

I’ve enabled the FTP network option and am able to log into FTP using my public IP via FileZilla (albeit locally, which may be having a loopback effect on my DSL firewall); however I’m seeing the other shares I’ve setup which I need to remain hidden for private use only.

I’ve tried to disable access to the other shares using a variety of techniques available throughout this newsgroup (such as setting deny_file=MyPrivateShare and hide_file=MyPrivateShare options to /etc/vsftpd.conf and setting “browseable = no” within the shares as defined within “/etc/samba/overall_share”), however while I can disable directory listing on the contents of the shares I wish to keep hidden the share directories themselves do not disappear.

The reason why I want to hide the share directories themselves is because many of the folder names within describe the contents within and as such disclose details to FTP which I’d otherwise want to keep to myself (nothing illegal, just that family member names etc., are part of the directory names).

I’ve some basic knowledge of Linux, not enough however to figure out what I need to do without potentially bricking the box.

Can anyone please either explain where I’m going wrong or point me in the direction of existing articles etc., that helps me out.

Apologies if this topic has been dealt with before, I just know FTP setup is either very simple (according to the manual) but less secure or seemingly more difficult (unless experts in Samba setup etc.) but more secure.

Essentially I want to setup FTP to a very specific share only with no possibility of other shares being exposed to the web.