HD started displaying as CD Drive.....but still shows in Device Manager as My Passport 071A

Model number is WDBABM7500ABM

I’d tried to write emal support, but can’t get the to submit, “knowledge base error” it says, so will just copy-paste what I’d sent here

I didn’t find the exact model number in the options drawbars in the model field above, though it does who up in your download pages, it’s My Passport Essential SE, purchased in 2011, so past warranty, I’d guess.

I travel, it’s taken quite a beating at times from drops and jars though still worked afterwards…the USB comes unattached at times, because of other things on my deskspace or moving it with the laptop when changing places/seating…so I’m lucky it lasted as long as it did…and assumed too much, I hadn’t restored a lot of backed up files back to my laptop and what’s on there is my whole life’s work (I’m a composer/songwriter and also have a huge photo collection and various writings); I have another copy in Canada of everything up until June 2012 but have been in Asia since…

So…the usual disconnecting-without-ejecting-because-of-USB-connection is a regular thing, there had been some “soft drops” in moves in the previous week, not as bad as others, it was working fine, though slow in being recognized quite often. Then I inserted a USB keydrive into another slot, on Xmas Eve I think it was, or the day before, and BAM I had a CD Drive showing instead of My Passport. Somehow it seems that the driver-install for that keydrive messed things up…