Formatting WD My Passport slim 1TB

Hi, I connected the hard drive to my MAC and tried to use but it wouldn’t let me use it it so after reading the manual instructions I formatted the hard drive for MAC use. The problem is when I tried to copy and paste a movie on to the drive, if its over 4GB, I get the following error message:

‘The item “12 Years A Slave.mkv” can’t be copied because it is too large for the volume’s format’

Meaning I cannot use the hard drive as it was intended to watch movies, how can I fix this please? Does it need formatting again? and will I be able to use the hard drive plugged into my smart tv if its been formatted to MAC? The current format partition set up is MAC OS Extended (journaled) if this helps - the only other options for formatting are Ec PAT, free space or MAC OS Extended (case sensitive, journaled).

Please help as I am new to this!!!

Thanks

Rachel

Hi Rachel,

Its wierd that you’re getting the error since the mac hfs+ file system supports file sizes much greater than 4GB. ( reference). Could you please check that you didn’t inadvertently format the drive with FAT or FAT32 type file system? you should be able to see the partition info in the disk utility in mac or windows partition manager in windows. you could post a screenshot so it may help others debug the error.

Can you try other file, less than 4GB but greater than 3.2GB. (because technically the FAT32 limit is 3.2GB not 4GB). If it works for this file, maybe there’s something else going on.

regards

by the way, most smart TVs won’t recognize the hfs+ mac partition. You will have to create a second partition, and use FAT32 or NTFS (modern windows file system type) for it. 

by the way, even though macs by default can only read NTFS, you can easily install ntfs-3g for read/write capability in mac os. in that way, your harddrive will work for both windows and mac, and hopefully the smart tv