Format to FAT32?

Hi,

I have the My Cloud 4TB, and I use it with two computers - a Windows PC (Win7), and a Macbook Pro (2013). Transferring files works flawless with my Win PC, but not with my MBP. I’m a photographer, so I often transfer folders with large portions of images. Usually 10-30 GB. When transferring from my MBP it stops about halfway, and giving me a error code 36. 

I have been talking to Apple, and they say that I should reformat my My Cloud to FAT32. How do I do that?

You can’t use Fat 32 on the My Cloud it uses a proprietry file format.

Not really proprietary… it is a standard Linux file system (EXT3)… but you are correct… it can’t be formatted as FAT32

I took exact words from WD FAQ and it depends on what you call proprierty I suppose for windows it is NFTS linux EXT 4 

Great… :-(. 

Is there anything else I can do, or did I just buy a product that doesn’t work properly with Mac?

I wouldnt say the product doesnt work with a Mac just the combination of file systems used can’t handle the number/size of data you are trying to transfer. I am not convinced using Fat 32 would solve your problem anyway really.

Looking on the web your error code is a standard problem for a Mac trying to transfer lots of data to any type of external HDD.  solutions suggest formatting the external storage device to HFS file system.  You won,t be able to do that on the My Cloud.

Are you able to just use the PC or have less images in your folder and less data in them and use the Mac.

Just found this on the web that might be a soloution for you, hope it helps

I get Mac Error Code 36 when trying to transfer files to a flash drive or memory card. How do I fix this?

Have a look at this link with instructions

http://kb.sandisk.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/9699/~/mac-error-code-36-when-transferring-files

Thanks for the link, but it’s still not working. I get the exact same error code. I’m going out of my mind - and out of space on my MBP…