Firmware WPA patch for Krack

Hello,

I’ve been using my WD My Net 900 for a couple of years. No problems whatsoever, but the last firmware update was 2013. Will there be a firmware patch for Krack, or do I need to find a new router?

Thanks!

I am also using a My Net 900 Router. PLEASE RELEASE A PATCH. My router works perfectly and I really don’t want to replace it. If I had to due to the lack of support, I doubt I would buy another WD product.

Here is more information on the Krack. I hope it helps.

I have the AC1300 router and have the same question. I have read that Windows users (7, 8, 10) that are up to date are already protected from the Krack exploit. Is that true? Will Western Digital release a firmware update for additional protection?

I’m using Windows 7 and updating Windows is not an option for either of my PCs. (Microsoft decided to block what they consider to be newer processors in order to push Windows 10.) All I can do now is use HTTPS and wait for that patch.

I am a little shocked by the lack of engagement in the community regarding this latest vulnerability… I suppose the only option left is to replace. Anybody have any suggestions, as I will not consider WD. Linksys maybe?

I feel the same way. Legacy product or not, I think WD needs to release a patch. If they just ignore this, I won’t be buying anything from them ever again. I don’t want to take the risk that a device I’m paying $80 is just going to be rendered randomly useless due to the lack of support.

I also have to agree. Yes, the routers are a legacy product, and Western Digital might feel that it is not worth spending any money to support a product that has been discontinued, but I think they are forgetting the effect that their decision will have on its customers and future sales. As PaintedGirl pointed out, many customers will be less inclined to buy a WD product because of the lack of support for a serious issue.