External HD Makes Noises But Doesn't Turn On or Show Up On Desktop

Hi 

I want to start off by saying that I have limited computer/technical knowledge so please if you answer me use little words. lol.

I have a WD external hard drive, I got it two christmases ago. When I hooked it up to my MAC (back when I first got it) it worked easy, the icon popped up on my desktop and there has never been a problem. I had to take my computer apart the other week to move it so for the first time since I have had it the external got turned off and unplugged. I have my computer back together and plugged the external back in and it’s not working. If I hold my ear next to it I can hear something inside so it seems to be thinking (probably plotting my demise lol) but the light in front doesn’t turn on and no icon on my desktop. 

I have no idea if there is a round about way to get in to the external (through menus on my computer or something), really, I have no idea what to do…all my music, pictures etc are on that external so I need to be able to get it back…any suggestions?

I will admit that when I turned it off I didn’t eject it, which I didn’t realize was such a big deal till I started googling to try to figure out what to do…have I messed up all my files cause I didn’t eject? :robotsad: