DX4k in weird state

This is my first time here, please be gentle. I’ll try to recount all of the wacky stuff I’ve seen…

We had a big power outage over the last weekend, and my server room UPS ended up running out of power and everything shut down. When I brought the DX4000 back online on Monday, I had a hard time getting it to boot. Initially, it did a “Loading OS” then back to initializing loop. I tried to do a recover using a 32GB USB stick, but it showed “Bad Storage” and a red light indicated that bay 3 was bad. I pulled the drive and tried rebooting, but I got a “Storage 9x(something)” error, at which point I plugged the drive back into bay 3, rebooted, and… it booted into the OS! It showed bay 3 was bad, still.

After doing some research, it looked like I could update my software to the latest version, apply the Sentinel Drive Enabler patch and just replace bay 3 with a new HDD of the same capacity. Unfortunately, the software update failed and the machine rebooted itself. I WAS able to apply the Drive Enabler, but I’m still on the old software version.

Now I’m back in Windows, and from the dashboard, I can see that there’s a warning that drive 3 has failed, however, I have NO lights on the front panel. The display shows the machine name and IP, Number of drives: 0, and Available capacity: 6TB when I scroll with the arrows. In the Dashboard, I can’t see the Intel RapidStorage tab at all, and I can’t find a GUI for the array. I’m afraid to just pull the drive and replace it, I don’t want to cause data corruption.

At this point, my goal is to be able to view the array from within the Intel GUI and verify that drive 3 is, indeed, bad. Anybody have any idea how I can get the GUI back (or what happened to it)?

you can try this
OldTechLady

Aug '17

Here’s a pleasant surprise:

Open a command prompt.
CD C:\Program Files\Windows Server\Bin\Addins\Primary
copy rst_addin.bak Intel.RST.HSBS.Config.addin

Open Server Manager => Configuration => Services