Don't want to create a new theme but want to adjust one? SOL

The point of this thread is pretty well spelled out in the subject. Now I know some things that I wish may just not be possible and I may have to compromise one thing or another, but we’ll get to those answers in time. First a little background for some context - I’m a new WD SMP owner, I’ve had it about a week. I’m a programmer professionally holding a BA in Multimedia (emphasis in Game Design), so I know a little something about code and UI design. I previously owned a custom-built HTPC that was getting a little long in the tooth, but I decided I didnt want to tinker with the thing anymore so I bought: a Roku, then returned it; a Sony box, then returned it. Then finally landed on the WD SMP.

The thing is great but after a week, there are just some little details I wish I could change for the better (according to me.) I have spent all week reading these threads, learning about theming, and trying some themes out. Almost none of the themes do what I want or they’re just not my taste. Basically, I want an out-of-the box experience that’s tweakable in small ways. So even though I’m a programmer, I do not wish to spend my time learning the ins-and-outs of WD’s XML files nor spending hours in photoshop making graphics. I want it to just work - that’s why I got rid of my HTPC.

I originally had a long, drawn out post with many of my tweak wishes but I decided to trim it down to a couple questions at a time so none of my ideas get lost in other discussion. I’ve spent a week reading and searching these threads, so if you know of a thread that answers my questions and I may not have seen it, by all means, please link me.