Discrete IR Commands?

While I’m a newbie, I’d like to thank everyone for a lot of good information on this forum and in the faqs which have been valuable as I have practiced and learned how to use the WD LTV+ over the last couple of weeks.

Now the questions that I have not been able to search or devine…

Does anyone know if the LiveTV+ firmware has “discrete ir power commands” 

The tiny remote only has a “power toggle” but many devices now have a power command that only turns the unit on and another that only turns the unit off… something that is essential when setting up universal remote controls.

The Logitech Harmony database has the WDLTV+ but it’s commands only offer the “power toggle” command.

A related question… does the unit have any additional ir commands such as alphabetic commands for use in searches and logins?

I did deternime that usb hid keyboards work which are essential… the general  faq and the supported devices faq do not mention  keyboards.  Any chance of getting them updated to show this?

Thanks again for the info here and thanks in advance for iadditional ir info.

fwiw, I’ve just finished setting up our media center Logitech Harmony universal remote to include the WDTVLive+ commands and will be happy to help anyone who needs to do the same.

Beverly Howard

Maybe you should try contacting WD’s Technical Support about this. You can do so either by phone or email.

To Contact WD for Technical Support
http://support.wdc.com/contact/index.asp?lang=en

support link <<

Thanks… will do.

A week of use confirms that these commands would make life a _lot_ easier since the wd unit powers itself down if you need to pause a movie.

In the mean time, the best solution is to disable the harmony power setting  (set “no power button”) and add a button for power button to the netflix “activity”

Beverly Howard

Hello,

The best place I know of to get answers on remotes and codes and such is here:

http://www.remotecentral.com/