Directory Structure

I am new to this. I just went through the manual page by page and I can’t find information on the directory structure for the WD TV Live Hub 1TB Media Center.   What I want to know is WHERE do I create new folders for various catagories of videos?  I need to know WHERE in the directory structure below do I insert the various video folders??  EX of folders would be:  Independent Movies…    Musicals…  Classic Movies…etc     Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ron

Can’t see your picture yet (quicker if you post it on another site and link to it), but the short answer is that you can have any directory structure you like. Most people have major directories in the root of the HUB such as “Music”, “Movies” etc, and then genre stuff inside of those. 

A typical setup for movies might look something like this

Root \ Movies

-----------> Action

------------------> Action Movie 1

------------------> Action Movie 2

------------------> Action Movie 3

-----------> Comedy

------------------> Comedy Movie 1

------------------> Comedy Movie 2

------------------> Comedy Movie 3

You could do the same thing with TV shows, and if you like music.

Structure is up to you, but a good one will make life a lot easier in the long run, especially if you decide to use a theme that has movie sheets

-P

Thank you for your help…  Being very new I have one more question.

When you list 

Action Movie 1  

Action Movie 2      

are these folders or the actual movies… ? 

Do I need to have a folder for each movie or can I have multiple movies in the Action Movies directory?

Ron

Most of us would reccomend that you do not put each movies in it’s own folder, so the “Action” folder would contain the actuall movies. This will make it so when you open the Action Folder, you will see all the Action movies without then having to manouver into each folder to get to the movie you want. 

So yes, in my example “Action Movie 1” would be something like “Die.Hard.(1988).mkv”