Custom Firmware Questions

So I’m wondering how many of you guys are using custom firmware for your WD SMP.

I feel that I’m finally getting a handle on using the stock firmware for my device - being that I don’t get to use it often, and I’m new to media players. This is my first one.

1.) Can flashing the SMP with custom firmware brick the device even if done properly? I am usng stock firmware - 1.03.07i

2.) Is B-Rad WDLXTV_LIVE-0.4.1.9-6 the latest firmware version, and is it the best custom firmware out there?

3.) I’m mainly wanting to get Lstar337’s Split Sheet Movie Sheets working.   http://www.wdtvlive.net/showthread.php?812-Lstar337-s-Split-Sheet-v3.0-Movie-Sheets!So it does not matter to me which firmware I use as long as I can get the sheets work.

4.) Is this easy to get working? I read for some It’s easy, and others It’s a nightmare. I would be willing to put in the time if there’s no major issues associated with the firmware flashing.

5.) Also being that you have a custom firmware, you shouldn’t update the stock firmware when a new version is available as that would overwrite the custom? What if there are important bug fixes for the stock, but not for the custom?

6.) Is getting custom firmware working still a matter of putting files on a USB stick - Inserting the stick into the SMP and installing it from there - and doing a hard reboot on the SMP? By ‘hard reboot’ I assume powering the device on/off.

That’s it for now. Help appreciated.

That firmware is not compatible with the WDTV Live SMP.   It’s only for the Live and Live+.

Ugh, foiled.

Is there a firmware that will work for the SMP so I can use Lstar337’s Split sheets?

They look so much better than the stock GUI it would be a travesty not to be able to use them. >:(

None that I know of, but there are several custom THEMES that support movie sheets with stock firmware.

Darn ok.

Where do I find the custom themes for the SMP?

Are there any as nice as Lstar’s?