Config MyCloud vs MyBook on Mac

WD Community

Looking for advice on the best way of setting up a sync/back up network as I’m a complete amateur with this.

I currently have an external MyBook Studio of 4TB attached to my iMac, currently half filled with photos. I bought a MyCloud Home 4TB that would serve as a safe haven in case something goes wrong however at the same time would give me the flex to work in the cloud and manage my photos anywhere, with subsequent changes saved and synced back to MyBook Studio. What is the best and safest way of doing this?

I read in the manual that MyCloud can backup USB devices, however the WD Discovery software, whilst recognising both MyBook and Cloud, doesn’t give me the option to have one mirroring the other. I presume therefore that this only works if I connect my Book to the Cloud drive directly? If this were the only/best option, can I do this without running the risk of losing any content as this is almost working in reverse as you’d probably connect a backup drive to the Cloud drive to back up the Cloud rather than the other way around. Ultimately, I don’t mind which one serves as a back up, the initial idea I had was to keep the current MyBook connected to the iMac as this is typical the first source to upload new content to, and with the USB3 connection also a lot quicker.

I have downloaded the MySync software and experimented with that. When I select “configure a storage device” it doesn’t recognise any devices nor does it accept me to login to myCloud. The other function “Share with myCloud” does seem to work but I understand this always creates a duplicate folder on the iMac, which isn’t serving what I am trying to achieve, ie offload all content in the Cloud with a backup when changes are made to the content in either location (cloud or book).