Complete noob needs advice

First off, I currently have multiple 1st gen media players with external hard drives attached throughout my house. However, my current hard drives are nearing capactiy. So I figured a large library storage unit that can wirelessly connect with each tv in the house would be my next upgrade.

As I did some research I came across the WD Sharespace. If I understand correctly, I can connect the Sharespace up to my wireless router and then connect a WD Mediaplayer Live to each TV and thus create a network that will allow me to play all my media on every tv? Is this correct? Can I play the same file (e.g. movie/music) on 2 different tvs at the same time?

When ever I ask someone these questions in person (i.e. at a store) they don’t know the answer. But when I scoure the internet for the answers I am swamped with technical jargon that I don’t fully understand. So please forgive me if these questions are really obvious. But I need to know these answers before buying. I wont need the NAS for anything other than my own household media library.

It’s hard to give a precise answer without knowing which media players you have connected to your television. For example, I use a Sony PS3, which can see and play material in various formats, from various media servers. The media server that is pre-installed on the ShareSpace is called “Twonky”. Although I have not tried it with every available media format, I found it somewhat limited in functionality, and clunky to browse, especially if you have a lot of material. In addition, Twonky requires that you place your media in certain preset shares on the Sharespace - that did not work very well with my existing directory structure. With help from this forum, I finally disabled Twonky permanently.