CLONE, 1T Blue to 1T Black with HP 17 laptop W 8.1 I'm new to this

I have an HP Laptop (17-e101nr) with an internal WD 1T Blue installed. I wish to clone this to my new WD 1T Black. I have the WD “A - - -” zip’d software download from this site. BUT, I remain confused.

The PDF says I need the destination drive (Black) installed for best results, OK but where/how do I attach the source drive (Blue)? I do have a USB docking adaptor for ATA (and IDE) drives, can I use that? Can I boot from the source drive (in the adaptor or in the DVD bay)? There is mention of mounting the source drive in the DVD bay, is that just a plug in?
The PDF also speaks of a “Bootable USB” device, how do I make this? How large must it be? What is it for?
I have backed up my drive, I think. I have five “Users” and I backed up from the root account, does that back up the entire drive?

Another package (Clonezilla) that I’ve been reading about appears to just boot the machine in Linux from a stick and uses included programming to clone the disk. Is that what the WD package does as well?

Larry

Cleaning detritus.

Larry

Another Question. When, not if, I successfully clone my WD Blue to the new WD Black, using the WD provided clone software, will the recovery “D” partition be cloned correctly?

History: I’ve been away from this for about ten years. Prior to that was active with UNIX, CPM, DOS 3.2, Win 95,98,XP, etc., so I’m “retreading”.
(Also H-8 self modified, H-9 self modified, and H-100 modified for DOS, etc.)

I see that the WD cloneware is Acronis True Image WD Edition , where do I go to download the bootable USB or CD data/software? They appear to have several editions, OR do I get it from WD???

This might help.

You install the WD Acronis True Image software, then go to tools and create rescue media to a cd/dvd or a flash drive. Then follow the instructions in the above Acronis KBA.

1 Like

Tim,