Changing Hard Drive Size in EX2

Hi,

I originally implemented the EX2 with 1TB drives.  I’m now replacing them with 2 X 4TB drives.  After placing the 4TB drive in one of the slots, I see the Raid-1 was rebuilt automatically.  On the dashboard, it now shows the new 4TB as a 1TB.  How can I try to regain the lost space?  I tried GParted without success. 

At this time my plan is to reformat the 4TB drive and place it into the EX2 case.  I expect the EX2 to prepare the drive in a way to give me the full available space of a 4TB drive.   I’ll place the old 1TB drive into an external USB case and copy the files over to the EX2 with the 4TB drive.   The only problem I have with this plan is that my Win 7 PC wants to reformat the 1TB drive.  I can’t seem to locate the files I need.  Are these files hardware encrypted by the EX2?  Any suggestion on how to recover these files?

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Caveat: I am not a doctor, don’t do anything listed below, blah blah.

Ok, you’ve done the hard part - dropping in the new 4tb drive and letting it build the array. Congrats! So, in your raid setup, it can be only as large as the biggest disc - 4TB now equals 1TB. Here’s what I would do…

Lazy man’s way:

Step 1)  Stick the 1TB you already pulled out in a USB case, like you planned - or just plug it in to your computer, format, and do a network copy. Gonna be slow either way, so just go for it.

Step 2) Take all the discs out of the raid. Keep the original 1TB just in case something goes wrong, etc.

Step 3) Wipe the 2 x 4TB drives and reinstall. It should freak out, build a new array, etc.

Step 4) ???

Step 5) Profit!

Hope it works for you. I know one of these guys probably has a better solution to where you resize the partition on the 4TB (now 1TB) drive, take out the other 1TB drive, insert both 4TB drives and let it clone over to the fresh disc - but since I haven’t tried it, you’d be on your own.