Can't play .avi on Mac OS X from WD MyCloud - but "Can" on Nexus 4, & DLNA

I’m having this problem. I have a macbook air OS X and I got WD MyCloud for christmas.

All files like .mp4 and .mkv and .avi play on my DLNA for my Samsung TV and my Nexus 4 phone.

THE PROBLEM IS when i open up WD MyCloud on my mac, it wont open or play .avi files. Perhaps it has something to do with VLC? I downloaded the latest version of VLC. 

This is my first mac, im normally a windows guy, I know about codec, I edit videos. However, im NEW to mac.

So how do I fix the problem to be able to play all files on my Mac OS X?

P.S. - I downloaded all the files to my mac, then uploaded them to WD MyCould for storage purposes, they played just fine on my mac before I put them on WD MyCloud.

Hello,

Are you able to try that with a different player?

What firmware are you running on the unit?

Please note that a new firmware was release yesterday.

http://www.wd.com/wdproducts/updates/?family=wdfmycloud_s

Try to play them with xbmc via smb and via Upnp adding MyCloud as server.

please speak english and dont use abbreviations.

Thanks.

Use google, the truth is out there.

i am having trouble installing the firmware. i downloaded the sq-030301-156-20131230.deb file. no clue what to do with it. I tried to follow the instructions online and im sorry but under File, Edit, View, Window there is no “settings” to click on like it instructs. 

and no, i cant play them at all. My options are VLC or Quicktime and neither will play the .avi. if that worked i wouldnt be here, duh. 

when i switch them from .avi to .mp4 or .mkv they still wont play. all my other .mp4 and .mkv files play, just not .avi

Those are not abreviations.

XBMC is actually a media center, Google it.

SMB is network protocol (also know as Samba), but most commonly just refered to as SMB.