Can't pause/rewind/forward some files

Hi guys/gals.

Newbie here. I’ve searched the forum, but can’t find anything that matches my problem.

I recently purchased a WD TV live player together with a WD Elements HDD. I moved my movie collection on to the new drive.This movie collection is ALL .ts files that have been copied from my Humax HD recorder. I find that some files play fine, while others do not display programme length (it just says 00.00.00), and just keep playing. That is: The file plays at normal speed but I can’t pause/rewind or forward it. As said, all my files are .ts files that are TV recordings that were copied off the same HD recorder. Seeing some play fine and others don’t it seems unlikely that it would be an issue with the format?

Any thoughts on why some of them do and some don’t work properly?

The ones that don’t sound like they don’t have proper sequence headers in them, but as to why the same encoder would make some with proper headers and some without, I have no clue.

The same lack of trick mode funcionality (that’s what the video folks have called that… the ability to fast-forward, rewind, pause, resume – I don’t know why) has shown up in other file types, so it’s not limited to a specific file type, but rather limited to whether the original encoding of the file provides for it or not.

The two symptoms go hand in hand…   the lack of a Time Index, and an inability to FF/REW/Pause all indicate a file that wasn’t “Closed” properly.

I got this quite often if my MKV encoder craps out before the end of the file (which it used to do quite often until I got the kernel fixed.)   If I opened an MKV and saw that, I knew immediately that the file was bad.

Might not be your specific issue, just wanted to throw that possibility into the mixture…

Thanks for the input guys.