Can't install My Cloud

Hi guys,

I am very new in this field (and on this forum). Would appriciate some help! 

Bought a 3TB My Cloud today but cant install it. At home i have a Thomson tg789vn router. WAN access thorugh fiber with Telia in Sweden. I have a desktop PC connected via Ethernet cable to the router. Also running IP telephony via Telia on the same unit. All this works fine.

However when I plug in the My Cloud nothing happens. It powers up but the front LED light, just gives a flashing yellow light. On the back side of the My Cloud there is no green light next to the Ethernet cable so there seems to be no connection. Consequently the setup software cant find any My Cloud (obviously)

I have made sure the ethernet cable is plugged in both in the router and the My Cloud. I have tested to disconnect the My Cloud and connect a second PC to the same router port with the same Ethernet cable and that works fine so nothing wrong with the router port or the cable. Have tried to reboot both router and My Cloud. Tried to disconnect the router from the incoming WAN and connecting the My Cloud there. Still no green light on the back (no Ethernet connection.)

Have tried to look on youtube videos and troubleshooting guides but none giva any guidance here. Not sure where to go from here, should i start by adjusting somthing in the Thomson configuration or could the My Cloud be a faulty one? Or coud my Carrier Telia (who owns the Thomson router) prevent My Cloud in my network in some way? Any suggestions?

Looks like your router only supports 100m, not gig.  

And though rare, it seems like the WD doesn’t like the autosensing ports on that router.

If you plug the WD directly into your PC’s ethernet port, does it then light up?

No it doesn’t light up if I connect to the My Cloud Ethernet port directly to the PC ethernet port. Does that make it a faulty unit?