Cant connect to lan from wireless

Hi all,

I have an issue, for some reason, when I’m connected to the wireless network, I can reach the Intenet, but I can’t print or stream or anyhting else.

Any reason for that?

Also WD support suggested I be in AP Mode an not router mode. The reason is I have a Vonage device in front of the my n750 and it has DHCP enabled.

I don’t like that since I cannot use the features I purchased it for.

Any way to resolve this?

fwiw, I’m no expert with Vonage, but I think your Vonage device should not be connected ‘in front’ of the N750 (yellow internet socket) as you have described.

I suspect your ISP provides a modem, and Not a ‘modem router’. In which case, the N750 should be configured in ‘router mode’ and wired directly to your ISP’s modem.

If however, your ISP provides you with a ‘modem router’, then the N750 should be configured in ‘Access Point mode’ and wired directly to your ISP’s router.

This should hopefully resolve the printing and streaming issues you have described.

If you are  using a Vonage box, see link below and look at the video for ‘Install Vonage Box with a router’.

Vonage box help page

ie. connect the box to any one of the 4 black ethernet sockets on the rear of N750

edit: minor update.

Thanks WD818

Ok, I flipped the vonage box inside the WD box and setup the WD box as the router :smiley: looking good.

Back to my WD streaming Live box. I can get on the Internet with it and get weather updates and stream youtube videos, but I still can’t get it to stream from my windows box. I was able to do that when I connected directly to the wired side.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Have you previously used wireless on the WD streaming live box to stream from Windows PC before you got the N750 ?