Can you turn a My Passport Ultra into a My Passport Discovery by erasing the drive?

I’m pretty dumb about things like this. I can’t run My Passport Ultra and older models on my computer anymore after installing Discovery software. Can I erase the older My Passports and will I be able to use them then with the updated software? Or if I can’t, can I erase them and will they still function as manual backup drives where I can copy-paste stuff into them?

Thanks Joey for your reply to my previous question.

Hi,

You could refer to the following link: https://support-en.wd.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/25164