Can someone PLEASE help me setup static IP

I’ve searched on these boards. Can’t find any legitimate answers on a step by step guide. Please tell me like i’m a 5th grader. I honestly do not know where to change settings. I have a linksys E2500 router and a MBL 3 TB. Do i need to change my router settings to static? Or does that change the whole network to static? Can i assign just one static IP address to the router? Is that done in the dashboard? I have no background in networking nor am i network engineer. I really need some help and if someone could give me a basic step by step run down i would greatly appreciate it!!

You need to disable DHCP on the router and then setup a manual IP on the same IP range that you have for the router gateway (Your router’s IP). For example, if your router has the IP 10.0.0.1, the devices on your network should have 10.0.0.2, 10.0.0.3,10.0.0.4, etc or if the router has 192.168.1.1, the other devices should have 192.168.1.2, 192.168.1.3. etc. If you leave the router with the DHCP enabled and only assign one static IP, that could cause IP conflicts. Check the link below for an idea on how to do it for your PC. 

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/19249/how-to-assign-a-static-ip-address-in-xp-vista-or-windows-7/

1 Like

Thanks for your response. I assigned a static IP address via dashboard using an IP address outside the routers DHCP range. Will this work? It seems to have worked and says the internet connection is good, but i’m not sure if I actually accomplished it as the settings on my router are the same. I definitely do not want to run into any IP conflicts.

One good note, setting the dashboard/MBL to static IP resolved an issue i was having with the WD2go photos app and not being able to access over 4G. 

Unfortunately my home computer is a macbook pro, but i will see what i can translate from that site.

Thank you again for your help!:smiley:

1 Like