Can I assign a drive letter to my "MyCloud" drive from outside my home network?

This question undoubtedly shows my complete newbie status. 

I have loaded my new 3TB MyCloud with my very large (2 TB) collection of family and historic photos.  I can access them by various means from within my home network, but usually, I just assign the MyCloud drive a drive letter and treat it as if it was a drive plugged directly into my home computer.

I would like to do exactly the same thing from my work computer.   I can see the drive from outside my home network using WD’s desktop app, and I almost have gotten to the point where I can FTP to it from outside the home network, but I would like to assign a drive letter to it on my work computer.

Is this possible?

Thanks in advance.

Tom

Of course you can,

http://www.hosting.com/support/nas/mount-a-nas-share-as-a-drive-letter-in-windows/

Tom_Mann wrote:

I would like to assign a drive letter to it on my work computer.

Is this possible?

Tom

Yes, it’s possible via the wdmycloud.com website.

However, the mapping usually won’t persist across reboots of your PC (You’ll need to do it each time you reboot, and even if you log off your PC.)

Keep in mind that remote access via this method behaves very differently than if it’s on your own network.

Thanks for the quick response.

“Yes, it’s possible via the wdmycloud.com website.”

Do you mean the web-based drive management interface?  If you do, I must have missed it because that’s the 1st place I looked.

“…However, the mapping usually won’t persist across reboots of your PC (You’ll need to do it each time you reboot, and even if you log off your PC.)…”

No problem - I can live with that.

“…Keep in mind that remote access via this method behaves very differently than if it’s on your own network…”

Could you explain in what way it behaves differently? 

Thanks again,

Tom

Tom_Mann wrote:

Thanks for the quick response.

“Yes, it’s possible via the wdmycloud.com website.”